Prof. Prem Vrat - Profile

  • Prof. Prem Vrat
  • Former Vice Chancellor APJAKTU, Lucknow
  • Tenure : 31.07.2006 to 30.07.2009

Prof. Prem Vrat, Professor of Eminence, Management Development Institute, Gurgaon and Former Vice Chancellor, Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow and Founder-Director (December 2001-May 2006), IIT Roorkee has had an outstanding academic record and is a product of IIT system throughout. He obtained B.Tech. (Hons.) in Mechanical Engineering in 1966 from IIT Kharagpur and M.Tech. (Industrial Engineering & Operations Research) from the same institute in 1968.  He received Ph.D. Degree of IIT Delhi in 1974 in Industrial Engineering & Operations Research. During 1975-76 he was Honorary Research Fellow at the Department of Engineering Production, University of Birmingham (U.K.).  He was International Visiting Fellow at University of Western Sydney, Australia in June-July, 2003.  He has visited 21 countries.  He is also an honorary visiting Professor at IIT Delhi.

Prof. Prem Vrat has more than 41 years of experience in teaching, research, consultancy and management development at Mechanical Engineering Department at IIT Delhi, AIT Bangkok and IIT Roorkee. He taught FPM students at IIM Lucknow. He has taught a wide spectrum of courses related to Industrial Engineering & Management Science at IIT Delhi.  During 1985-86, he was a visiting faculty at the Industrial Engineering & Management Division at prestigious Asian Institute of Technology, Bangkok, Thailand and held the position of Professor & Chairman, Division of Industrial Engineering & Management at AIT Bangkok for two years during 1989-91.  He has excellent communication skills and is highly respected by his students.  Prof. Vrat has outstanding research credentials.  He has guided 36 Ph.D. theses, 117 M.Tech. and 64 B.Tech. level major projects on Industrial Application of Systems approach and management Science.  He has published more than 380 research papers in reputed journals and proceedings of International and National Conferences. He has co-authored four books and co-edited five conference proceedings. He has delivered invited lectures in more than 400 Management Development programs in India and abroad.  He has undertaken 5 sponsored research projects (two European Union funded projects) and 30 major systems based management/HRD consultancies in a number of reputed organizations both public and private, in India and abroad.  He held the Modi Foundation Chair in 2001. He was Head, Centre for Management Studies, Coordinator ASRP, Head ETSC, Dean, PGS & R, Deputy Director and Director-in-Charge at IIT Delhi.  He took over as the Director of Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee on 16th December, 2001 and played a key facilitating role in the process of transformation of erstwhile University of Roorkee into IIT Roorkee.  His tenure led to an overall excellence in academic, research, infrastructure and systemic development of IIT Roorkee.  He joined as Vice Chancellor of APJAKTU on 31st July 2006 after superannuation and focussed on how to enhance the quality of technical education through strategic quality initiatives at APJAKTU.After a successful tenure, he joined MDI as Professor of Eminence on 1st Oct.2009 upon invitation from its Board.

His contributions as founder Director of IIT Roorkee are very widely recognized and appreciated in converting a state university into a state of Art University-the IIT Roorkee.  His last three years tenure as Vice Chancellor of Uttar Pradesh Technical University, Lucknow has led to a wider brand acceptance of APJAKTU resulting in quantitative expansion from 286 colleges/institutions in 2006 under APJAKTU affiliation to 600 colleges/institutions in July 2009.  Simultaneously he has very passionately introduced many innovative ideas in enhancing the academic excellence in APJAKTU-such as A.P.J.A.K.T.U.-Academic Excellence Award, adherence to academic calendar and developing APJAKTU website to have greater transparency in performance of various colleges. Quality was the main focus of his efforts.

He also contributed to greater visibility and recognition of APJAKTU outside India through a number of MoU’s with industry and academic institutions and created a state of the art infrastructure at its Noida Centre and facilitated Virtualization of Technical Education in APJAKTU for faculty development for its affiliated colleges.  He is known for consistently sensitizing all stake holders to enhance quality in technical education.

Prof. Prem Vrat has received a number of prizes and honors and was recipient of National Merit Scholarship.  He has received 8 best paper/case studies medals and prizes for his papers.  His book “Productivity Management: A system approach” received awards from DMA as well as ISTD.  He received prestigious Lillian Gilbreth Award for his outstanding contributions to Industrial Engineering & Productivity in India as well as Dr. C.M. Jacob Gold Medal of Systems Society of India for outstanding contributions to Systems Modelling & Management.  He was elected Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of Indian Institution of Industrial Engineering, Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India, Fellow of World Academy of Productivity Science, American Order of Excellence in Engineering Education & Research and Fellow, Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE).  He was awarded Outstanding Contribution Award for National Development for the year 2002-03 by IIT Delhi Alumni Association. IIT Kharagpur conferred on him the "Distinguished Alumnus Award" for 2004 presented during the Golden Jubilee convocation. He received Lifetime Achievement Award from WIBP during Knowledge Summit 2004 for outstanding contribution to tertiary education. He was conferred, Doctor of Engineering (Honoris Causa) by Bundelkhand University in 2006 and was conferred "Centenarian Seva Ratna" in 2005 and“Uttaranchal Ratan” Award in April, 2006. Indian Institution of Industrial Engineering conferred on him its highest recognition "Honorary Membership" on 12th October 2007.  He was conferred National Ishan Award for Excellence in 2007 as well as Life Time Achievement Award from International Association of Educators for World Peace – an affiliate of U.N. He was conferred 3rd Dr. J.C. Bose National Teachers Excellence Award in Dec. 2009 at Bhopal for outstanding work in technical education. He has been on the BoG of many technical institutions/Universities and on the editorial boards of many international and national journals and was Chairman (NWRC), AICTE, PIC of NPEEE and Chairman, Working Group on HRD in IT, Dept of IT, Govt. of India.